Localization Projects via Dropbox


Dropbox IconDropbox is a popular web-based hosting service operated by Dropbox, Inc. It utilises the cloud to backup files contained within a designated Dropbox folder on your local machine.

In addition to backup, Dropbox offers file sync between computers and allows users connected to the internet to share files and folders. Each time a user boots a computer running Dropbox, modifications will be synced with the cloud so that all computers are up-to-date with one another.

Dropbox is based on the Freemium model. All new users can get 2GB worth of file space for free and acquire more by introducing friends to the service. If additional space is required, users can pay a monthly fee to get a considerable upgrade.

 

Using it for localisation projects

As Dropbox can be installed on every major operating system, it is accessible to almost everyone with an internet connection. It doesn’t require any technical knowledge nor configuration, making it a viable way of sharing files between developers and translators.

Developers can save text/string files within a shared folder which will automatically get downloaded on the translator’s system when he or she connects to the internet.

Dropbox can also be used for both parties to transfer large files across the internet. It is an easy alternative to 25mb emails.

 

Creating a Shared Folder

Shared folders can be initiated by either party and the recipient does not have to have a Dropbox account set up. To create the shared folder:

  • Log in at dropbox.com
  • Click “Sharing”
  • Click “Create a Shared Folder”

You will then have the opportunity to send the Shared Folder via email. If the user doesn’t have a Dropbox account, they will be taken through steps to create one. You can invite more than one person to this folder if you so wish.

Once both accounts accept the shared folder, all files and folders created within this folder will be shared among them. Users are also able to modify and delete files with no restrictions.

 

Don’t use it as version control

Files saved by either user will overwrite existing files even if the existing are more recent. This can lead to problems if developers are transferring .string files for translation.

While paying Dropbox customers can recover deleted files, it’s time-consuming and not an alternative to dedicated revision control systems such as Git, SVN, Mercurial, etc.


We’d really appreciate it if you could rate this post to let us know how useful you found it! :) Thanks!

1 Star2 Stars3 Stars4 Stars5 Stars (1 votes, average: 4.00 out of 5)

Rob

CEO & Founder of Applingua.com

Leave a Reply